top of page

Did Video kill the Radio Star?




As the popularity of streaming services rises, many people have started to turn away from FM and AM radio in favor of soundcloud, spotify, and apple music. Yet, to some people the relevance of radio hasn't yet died. Radio has been an essential part of our history and our culture for so long that it is nearly impossible for the institution as a whole to disapear, but is it still useful and needed? Will radio fade into obscurity or become a lost piece of nostalgia?



 

Transcript


JMC: Did video really kill the radio star? Lets find out.


[Radio talkshow plays in the background]


JMC: How often do you listen radio in your car?


JERRY: Probably about fifty percent of the time I drive.


JMC: Do you think that radio is still relevant in today's society?


JERRY: I like to think so - just because not everybody has a smart phone or bluetooth in their car - we got to keep thinking some people still have cars from the 1940s, but I do think its still pretty useful and I use it everyday.


[Cars driving past in the background]


JMC: Although the glory of radio has faded over time many people still think its relevant.


JMC: As a musician do you think that radio is still today?


GABE: Um... it is not relevant in the way that it used to be, its not a business like it used to be, but I think its definitely still relevant in more ways than most people here would probably agree with me on. I think that its an essential thing and its not going to go away, although... so I would argue that its relevant in emergencies, but I don't think that it is... um... relevant in the way it used to be but I still think that its definitely relevant and its going to be around.


JMC: This has been a report by Jon Mark Castleman from the Castle Project.


1 view0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page